Generates full songs with vocals from a text prompt.
Suno vs Udio (2026): which AI music generator should creators use?
AI music generator producing full tracks from text prompts.
For creators who need music they can post on monetized videos, Suno is the clearer choice right now. Its pricing page states commercial rights on Pro ($8/mo) and Premier ($24/mo), plus a fixed number of downloads. Udio's pricing page didn't show plan details when we checked, so its download and commercial terms are not stated on its site. Use Udio for experimenting, and confirm its terms before you publish anything from it.
Quick verdict
- Pick Suno if you need songs for YouTube, TikTok or client work, with commercial rights, downloads and stems on a published plan.
- Pick Udio if you want to explore a different-sounding model for fun or ideas, and you don't need to download or monetize the output.
Side-by-side comparison
| Suno | Udio | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 50 credits/day, no commercial rights, no monthly downloads, no stems | Not stated on their site (page didn't load) |
| Cheapest paid | Pro $8/mo: 2,500 credits, 20 song downloads/mo | Not stated on their site |
| Commercial use | Yes on Pro and Premier, "subject to limitations" in the terms | Not stated on their site |
| Downloads | 20/mo on Pro, 60/mo on Premier; more can be bought | Not stated on their site |
| Stems | 2 types on Pro, 3 on Premier | Not stated on their site |
| Upper tier | Premier $24/mo: 10,000 credits, Suno Studio | Not stated on their site |
| Credits roll over? | No | Not stated on their site |
What matters for monetized videos
On Suno's free plan you get no commercial rights, so anything made there shouldn't go on a monetized channel. Paying for Pro at $8/mo adds commercial rights, but the 20 downloads a month are the real limit: that's 20 finished tracks, not 20 attempts. Yearly billing saves $24 on Pro and $72 on Premier, according to Suno.
Udio's case is murkier: its pricing page showed no plan details, downloads or licence terms when we checked. Until Udio's own page states them, don't plan a channel around Udio tracks.
Copyright in AI music is still unsettled, and YouTube may treat mass-produced AI content differently from original work. Treat any AI track as "licensed to use", not "yours to register".
A worked cost example
Say you make background tracks for 15 Shorts a month. Suno Pro at $8/mo covers 20 downloads, so that's about 53 cents a track and leaves 5 spare. Push to 40 tracks a month and Pro runs out; Premier at $24/mo covers 60, about 40 cents a track at full use. Credits don't roll over, so pick the tier for your normal month, not your busiest one.
How to check any AI music tool before you publish
- Find the plan that grants commercial rights, in writing, on the vendor's own pricing or terms page.
- Check whether downloads are allowed and how many per month.
- Read what happens to rights after you cancel. Suno's terms say commercial rights on paid-tier downloads are perpetual.
- Keep the download date and plan on record, in case a claim appears later.
Which should you pick?
- Background music for Shorts: Suno Pro. Twenty tracks a month is plenty.
- A full song series or channel: Suno Premier, for 60 downloads and Suno Studio.
- No risk at all: a royalty-free library. See copyright-free music for monetized videos.
Questions
Is Suno or Udio better?
For creators, Suno, because its commercial rights and download limits are published per plan. Sound quality is a matter of taste, so try both free.
Is Suno music copyright free on YouTube?
Not on the free plan, which has no commercial rights. Pro and Premier include commercial use, subject to Suno's terms.
Can you download songs from Udio?
It's not stated on Udio's pricing page as of our check. Look at your account and Udio's terms before relying on downloads.
How much is Suno per month?
Pro is $8/mo and Premier is $24/mo, with savings on yearly billing.
Sources: suno.com/pricing; udio.com/pricing (plan details didn't load). Checked on 13 October 2026. Based on published plans, not a hands-on test.