- Free option listed
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
- Commercial use allowed
Kittl vs Ideogram: which is better for thumbnails and covers?
At a glance
- Free plan
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
- Commercial use on paid plans
Ideogram is an AI image generator known for clear text inside images. Free gives 30 credits a week, and Plus is $20/month or $15/month yearly. Kittl is a design editor with templates, text effects and AI. Its free plan is personal use only, and Pro adds a commercial license. Generate in Ideogram, lay out in Kittl.
Quick verdict
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Ideogram | Kittl |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | AI image generation | Design editor with AI |
| Free plan | 30 credits/week (Google, Apple or Microsoft sign-in). Images are public | Templates and light AI use, personal only |
| Entry paid plan | Plus: $20/month or $15/month yearly, 2,400 credits | Pro. Price not in page text. Repo data: $14/month yearly, $19 monthly |
| Higher plans | Pro: $60/month or $42 yearly. Team: $20-30/user | Expert and Max, with daily AI tokens |
| Commercial use | Ideogram does not restrict commercial use of outputs (ToS) | Pro and Expert: commercial license up to 500,000 copies |
| Private images | Plus and above | Not applicable |
| Best for | Text-heavy AI images | Logo-style and cover layouts |
For Shorts, TikTok and Reels
Thumbnail and cover text needs to be readable at phone size. Ideogram can generate an image with the words in it. Kittl gives you full control of fonts and placement.
How to choose
- Need a fast AI image with words? Ideogram free.
- Need exact layouts and fonts? Kittl.
- For monetized channels, avoid Kittl Free, which is personal use only.
Common questions
Is Ideogram free?
Yes. 30 credits a week if you sign in with Google, Apple or Microsoft. Free images are public.
Can I use Kittl free commercially?
No. Kittl says the free plan is personal use only.
Is Ideogram better at text than other AI tools?
Text rendering is what Ideogram is known for in our listing.
Related: Canva vs Kittl, thumbnail tools.
Sources: docs.ideogram.ai/plans-and-billing/available-plans, ideogram.ai/legal/tos, kittl.com/pricing. Kittl's prices were not in the page text, so they come from our tool data. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

