ShortStack
Head-to-head

Tella vs Loom: which screen recorder makes better creator videos?

At a glance

LoomRecording
Starts atFreemium; Business $18/user/mo, Business + AI $24/user/mo
  • Free option listed
  • Free trial14 days of Business + AI
  • Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Full Loom details →

Loom is for quick shared recordings and has a free plan. Tella is for polished recordings you post, with 4K export and up to 6 hours per clip, but it has no free plan. Loom Free caps you at 25 videos, 5 minutes each, 720p.

Quick verdict

  • Choose Loom if you send quick walkthroughs and want to start free.
  • Choose Tella if you publish tutorials and want 4K and layouts for $13/month billed yearly.

Side-by-side comparison

DetailLoomTella
Free planStarter: 25 videos per person, 5 min per screen recording, 720pNo free plan. Free trial mentioned, no details
Entry paid planBusiness: $18/user/month, unlimited videos and length, up to 4KPro: $13/user/month billed yearly, up to 4K, 3,000 agent credits
Upper planBusiness + AI: $24/user/month. Enterprise: contact salesPremium: $19/user/month yearly, 4K 60 FPS, 6,000 credits
Recording lengthUnlimited on paid6 hours per clip
BrandingNot listed on Loom's pricing page (Oct 2026)Remove Tella branding on Premium
Trial14 days of Business + AIMentioned in FAQ, length not stated on Tella's pricing page (checked 16 Oct 2026)
Best forAsync team updatesTutorials and course videos

For YouTube and Shorts

Loom Free's 720p looks soft on a full-screen YouTube video. If you publish what you record, 4K matters, and both tools need a paid plan for it: Tella Pro at $13/month yearly or Loom Business at $18/month. For vertical Shorts you will still crop or edit in another app, as neither pricing page lists a 9:16 export.

How to choose

  1. Decide if viewers or teammates watch the video.
  2. Teammates only: Loom Free.
  3. Public tutorials: Tella Pro, the cheaper 4K option.
  4. Need AI summaries for a team: Loom Business + AI.

Questions people search

Is Tella free?

No. Tella lists no free plan. Pro starts at $13 per user a month billed yearly.

What is the Loom free plan limit?

25 videos per person, 5 minutes per screen recording, up to 720p.

Tella or Loom for YouTube?

Tella suits YouTube better: 4K on its cheapest plan and clips up to 6 hours.

Related: screen recording tools.

Sources: loom.com/pricing, tella.com/pricing. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.