ShortStack
Head-to-head

Rytr vs Writesonic: which AI tool should a creator use?

At a glance

Rytr is a cheap AI writer: free for 10,000 characters a month, then Unlimited at $7.50/month or Premium at $24.16/month. Writesonic has moved on from being a simple writer. It now tracks how ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews mention your brand, with an article writer built in, from $79/month billed yearly. For captions, hooks and descriptions, Rytr.

Quick verdict

  • Choose Rytr for short copy on a small budget.
  • Choose Writesonic if you run a brand and want AI search tracking plus SEO articles.
  • Most solo creators only need Rytr or a free chatbot.

Side-by-side comparison

DetailRytrWritesonic
Main jobAI writingAI search visibility, with an article writer
Free planYes: 10K characters/mo, no cardFree sign-up, no card; trial length not stated
Entry planUnlimited: $7.50/moStarter: $79/mo yearly, $99 monthly
Next planPremium: $24.16/mo; 35+ languagesBasic: $199/mo yearly
LimitsUnlimited generation on paid plans15 AI articles/mo, 50 tracked prompts on Starter
Plagiarism checks50/mo Unlimited, 100/mo PremiumNot listed
Commercial useYes, per our listing dataNot stated on the pricing page
Best forCaptions, hooks, descriptionsBrands chasing AI search mentions

For Shorts, TikTok and Reels

A Short needs a hook, a caption and a few hashtags. That is a few hundred characters. Rytr Free's 10,000 characters covers dozens of captions a month. Writesonic is priced for marketing teams and does not focus on video copy.

How to choose

  1. Need short copy? Start with Rytr Free.
  2. Hit the limit? Rytr Unlimited at $7.50.
  3. Writing in another language? Rytr Premium, with 35+ languages.
  4. Only look at Writesonic if you need AI search tracking.

Common questions

Is Rytr free?

Yes, 10,000 characters a month with no card.

Is Writesonic better than Rytr?

They now do different jobs. Writesonic tracks AI search visibility. Rytr writes copy.

How much is Writesonic?

Starter is $79/month billed yearly, or about $99 billed monthly.

Related: hook and script tools.

Sources: rytr.me/pricing, writesonic.com/pricing. Writesonic monthly prices are worked out from the yearly savings it lists. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.