- No free option listed
Adobe Premiere Pro vs iMovie: when is it worth paying?
At a glance
- Free option listed
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
iMovie is Apple's free editor for Mac, iPhone and iPad. Adobe Premiere Pro is a pro editor at US$22.99/month on an annual plan billed monthly, with a 7-day trial, 25 generative credits and 100GB of cloud storage. There is no one-time purchase. If you are on Apple and make simple Shorts, iMovie is enough.
Quick verdict
- Choose Adobe Premiere Pro if you edit for clients, need Windows, or want pro tools.
- Choose iMovie if you are on Apple and want free, simple edits.
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Adobe Premiere Pro | iMovie |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$22.99/month, annual plan billed monthly | Free (ShortStack data) |
| Trial | 7 days | Not needed |
| One-time purchase | No, subscription only | Free |
| Platforms | Not listed on the plans page | Mac, iPhone, iPad |
| Cloud storage | 100GB | Not listed |
| AI | 25 generative credits a month | Not listed |
| Best for | Pro and client work | Beginners on Apple devices |
Which one for Shorts, TikTok and Reels?
iMovie is built for widescreen projects, so many creators finish vertical Shorts in a phone app instead. Premiere handles vertical sequences and captions. That alone is $275.88 a year at $22.99/month.
How to choose
- Start on iMovie if you own a Mac or iPhone.
- If you need Windows or pro features, try Premiere's 7-day trial.
- Consider Creative Cloud Pro at US$34.99/month only if you need other Adobe apps.
Questions people ask
Is iMovie free?
Yes, on Mac, iPhone and iPad.
Can I buy Premiere Pro once?
No. Adobe says Premiere is subscription only.
How much is Premiere Pro a month?
US$22.99/month on an annual plan billed monthly.
Related: Adobe Premiere Pro, iMovie, CapCut vs Premiere Pro, desktop video editors.
Sources: adobe.com/products/premiere/plans.html, support.apple.com/imovie. Apple's iMovie page did not state a price, so iMovie's free price comes from ShortStack data. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

