- No free option listed
Final Cut Pro vs iMovie: is the upgrade worth it for creators?
At a glance
- Free option listed
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
iMovie is free on iPhone, iPad and Mac, and exports up to 4K at 60fps. Final Cut Pro costs $299.99 once on Mac, or comes in Apple Creator Studio at $12.99/month ($129/year), which also covers the iPad version. Start on iMovie. Move to Final Cut Pro when you need auto reframe, social export presets or batch export.
Quick verdict
- Choose Final Cut Pro if you post the same video in several aspect ratios and want pro tools and batch export.
- Choose iMovie if you are starting out, edit simple videos and want to pay nothing.
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Final Cut Pro | iMovie |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $299.99 one-time (Mac), or Creator Studio $12.99/month or $129/year | Free |
| Free trial | 30 days of Apple Creator Studio | Not needed |
| Devices | Mac (macOS 15.6+), iPad (iPadOS 18.6+, M1 or later and some others) | iPhone, iPad, Mac |
| Max export | Not stated on Apple's Final Cut Pro page (checked 16 Oct 2026) | Up to 4K at 60fps on supported devices |
| Vertical video | Auto reframe to every aspect ratio, portrait titles | Export optimized for Instagram and YouTube |
| Watermark | None mentioned | None mentioned |
| Best for | Regular creators and multi-platform posting | Beginners and quick edits |
Buy once or subscribe
At $12.99/month, Creator Studio costs about $156 a year, so the $299.99 Mac license pays off after about 2 years. Students and educators pay $2.99/month. The subscription is the only listed way to get Final Cut Pro on iPad.
Which one for Shorts, TikTok and Reels?
- One video, many formats: Final Cut Pro auto reframe plus Compressor presets for YouTube, Instagram and TikTok.
- Quick vlog or trailer: iMovie templates: 20 storyboards and 14 trailers.
- Editing on iPhone: iMovie.
How to choose
- Start in iMovie and note what you miss.
- If it is reframing or batch export, take the 30-day Creator Studio trial.
- Choose subscription or $299.99 one-time by how long you will edit on Mac.
- Make sure your Mac meets macOS 15.6 and 8GB memory.
Common questions
Is Final Cut Pro worth it over iMovie?
If you post weekly in several aspect ratios, auto reframe and batch export save time. For simple edits, iMovie is enough.
Can iMovie export 4K?
Yes, up to 4K at 60fps on supported devices.
Is Final Cut Pro a subscription now?
You can buy it for $299.99 once, or get it in Apple Creator Studio for $12.99/month.
Related: CapCut vs DaVinci Resolve, desktop video editors, phone video editors.
Sources: apple.com/final-cut-pro, apps.apple.com/us/app/imovie/id377298193. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.
