- Free plan
- Free trialfree trial of Pro or Business
- No watermark on free exports
Freepik AI vs Canva: which one for creator graphics?
At a glance
- Free option listed
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Canva is a design tool with templates for thumbnails, covers and simple videos. It is free, with Pro at US$144 a year (about $12/month) for one person. Freepik AI, now renamed Magnific, is a stock and AI generation studio: Premium is $20/month or $14.50/month yearly for 240K credits a year and a commercial AI license. Canva for laying out designs. Freepik for generating images and video.
Quick verdict
- Choose Canva to design thumbnails and posts from templates.
- Choose Freepik AI to generate AI images and video and use stock assets.
- Many creators generate in Freepik and finish in Canva.
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Canva | Freepik AI |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Templates and design | Stock plus AI image and video generation |
| Free plan | Yes | Not listed on the pricing page |
| Entry plan | Pro: US$144/yr for one person (about $12/mo) | Premium: $20/mo, $14.50/mo yearly |
| Next plan | Business: US$250/year per person | Premium+: $45/mo, $33.75/mo yearly; adds music rights |
| AI credits | Not covered in our check | 240K/yr on Premium; valid for one year |
| Watermark | Only on Pro elements on Free | Not stated |
| Commercial use | Yes, per our listing data | Commercial AI license on all plans |
| Best for | Thumbnails and branded templates | AI visuals and stock |
For YouTube, Shorts and TikTok
A thumbnail needs a subject, text and layout. Canva handles text and layout with templates. Freepik can generate the subject image and has 250M+ premium assets. Prices exclude VAT on Freepik, so confirm the total in your currency.
How to choose
- Mostly templates and text? Canva Free.
- Need AI images or clips? Freepik Premium.
- Need music rights too? Freepik Premium+.
- Use Canva Pro's free trial before paying.
Common questions
Is Freepik now called Magnific?
Yes. Its pricing page reads "Magnific (formerly Freepik)".
Is Canva free?
Yes. Pro adds premium content, AI tools and brand kits.
Does Freepik have a free plan?
Its pricing page lists only paid plans: Premium, Premium+ and Pro Starter.
Related: Canva vs Adobe Express, Canva vs Kittl, thumbnail tools, AI image tools.
Sources: canva.com/pricing, magnific.com/pricing. Canva prices are US prices from canva.com/pricing (checked 16 Oct 2026). Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

