- Free planlimited free daily generations
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Adobe Firefly vs Canva: which should a creator use for AI images and thumbnails?
At a glance
- Free plan
- Free trialfree trial of Pro or Business
- No watermark on free exports
Adobe Firefly is an AI generator. It has a free plan with daily generations, and paid plans start at $9.99/month for 2,000 credits. Canva is a full design tool with AI built in. It has a free plan, and Pro is US$144 a year (about $12/month) for one person.
Quick verdict
- Choose Adobe Firefly if you mainly want AI images, video and audio, with clear commercial-use wording for Firefly models.
- Choose Canva if you want templates for thumbnails, Reels and Shorts, a basic video editor and post scheduling in one place.
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Adobe Firefly | Canva |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: free daily generations. Daily number not stated on Adobe's Firefly plans page (checked 16 Oct 2026) | Yes, for one person, with free templates and tools |
| Starting paid plan | Standard: $9.99/month, 2,000 credits a month | Pro: US$144/year for one person (checked 16 Oct 2026) |
| Higher plans | Pro: $19.99/month (4,000 credits). Pro Plus: $49.99/month (10,000 credits). Premium: $199.99/month (50,000 credits) | Business: US$250/year per person (checked 16 Oct 2026) |
| Free trial | Free plan instead | 30-day trial of Pro |
| Credits roll over | No. Credits reset each billing cycle | Not in ShortStack data on Canva (Oct 2026) |
| Commercial use | Adobe says outputs from Firefly models can be used for commercial purposes | Not in ShortStack data on Canva (Oct 2026) |
| Templates and editing | Generate, Generative Fill, Generative Expand | Templates for every social format, basic video editor, Brand Kits |
Credits on Firefly
Every paid Firefly plan has unlimited standard features like Generate Image and Generative Fill. Premium features like Generate Video and Generate Music use credits. Credits reset each month and do not roll over. They also work in Photoshop, Premiere and Adobe Express.
A note on promo prices
Adobe's plans page showed 30% off the first year of Pro Plus and Premium, ending 21 October. After that, the regular prices in the table apply.
Which one for a Shorts creator?
- Thumbnails from templates plus quick Reels: Canva.
- AI images and short AI clips for B-roll: Firefly Standard at $9.99/month.
- Zero budget: start on both free plans.
- Paid brand work with AI images: Firefly, and stick to Firefly models rather than partner models.
Common questions
Does Adobe Firefly have a free plan?
Yes. Adobe Firefly pricing: Freemium, from $9.99/mo. Prices change, so check the official site.
Does Canva have a free plan?
Yes. Canva pricing: Freemium; Pro US$144/yr per person. Prices change, so check the official site.
Which is better, Adobe Firefly or Canva?
Pick Adobe Firefly if you mainly want AI images, video and audio, with clear commercial-use wording for Firefly models. Pick Canva if you want templates for thumbnails, Reels and Shorts, a basic video editor and post scheduling in one place.
Related: Canva vs Adobe Express, Canva vs Kittl, AI image generation tools, AI image generators for commercial use.
Sources: www.adobe.com/products/firefly/plans.html, www.canva.com/pricing. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

