- Free planlimited free daily generations
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Adobe Firefly vs Midjourney: which AI image tool fits a Shorts or TikTok creator?
At a glance
- No free option listed
Adobe Firefly is the safer pick if you want to try free and care about commercial use. It has a free plan with daily generations, and paid plans start at $9.99/month. Midjourney has no free plan listed in our check and starts at $10/month, or $8/month billed yearly. Its terms say you own what you make, but your images are public by default.
Quick verdict
- Choose Adobe Firefly if you want a free start, clear commercial-use wording, and image, video and audio in one place.
- Choose Midjourney if you want its art style for thumbnails and covers, and you are fine with images being public by default.
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | Adobe Firefly | Midjourney |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: free daily generations across image, video and audio. Daily number not stated on Adobe's Firefly plans page (checked 16 Oct 2026) | No free plan listed on Midjourney's plans page (checked 16 Oct 2026) |
| Starting price | Firefly Standard: $9.99/month, 2,000 credits a month | Basic: $10/month, or $8/month billed yearly |
| Next plans | Pro: $19.99/month (4,000 credits). Pro Plus: $49.99/month (10,000 credits). Premium: $199.99/month (50,000 credits) | Pro and Mega: prices not covered in our check |
| Billing shown | Individual plans priced monthly. Team plans are annual, billed monthly | Monthly or yearly |
| Commercial use | Adobe says outputs from Firefly models can be used for commercial purposes | Allowed with ownership; companies over $1,000,000 a year in revenue need Pro or Mega |
| Who owns the output | Not covered on the plans page | You own your assets, with the exception above |
| Privacy of images | Not covered in our check | Public and remixable by default |
Commercial use: what the terms say
Firefly: Adobe's plans page says outputs from Adobe Firefly models can be used for commercial purposes. Firefly also offers partner models. For those, Adobe says you are responsible for checking whether the output is right for your project.
Midjourney: the terms say you own the assets you create, to the fullest extent the law allows. If you work for a company with more than $1,000,000 a year in revenue, you must be on Pro or Mega to own your assets. You keep ownership even if you later downgrade or cancel.
The public gallery catch
Midjourney's terms say your content is publicly viewable and remixable by default, and you give Midjourney a license to allow this. If you are making a thumbnail for a video that is not out yet, keep that in mind.
A note on promo prices
On 15 October 2026 Adobe showed a first-year deal on Pro Plus ($34.97/month) and Premium ($139.91/month), with the offer ending 21 October. After that, the regular prices in the table apply.
Which one for a Shorts creator?
- Just testing AI images for thumbnails: Firefly Free.
- Posting a few AI covers a week: Firefly Standard at $9.99/month or Midjourney Basic at $10/month.
- Want a set art look and do not mind a public gallery: Midjourney.
- Doing paid brand work: Firefly, and stick to Firefly models rather than partner models.
Common questions
Does Adobe Firefly have a free plan?
Yes. Adobe Firefly pricing: Freemium, from $9.99/mo. Prices change, so check the official site.
Does Midjourney have a free plan?
No. Midjourney pricing: From $8/mo yearly ($10 monthly). Prices change, so check the official site.
Which is better, Adobe Firefly or Midjourney?
Pick Adobe Firefly if you want a free start, clear commercial-use wording, and image, video and audio in one place. Pick Midjourney if you want its art style for thumbnails and covers, and you are fine with images being public by default.
Related: AI image generation tools, AI image generators for commercial use, AI thumbnail generators.
Sources: adobe.com/products/firefly/plans.html, docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/32083055291277-Terms-of-Service, docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/27870484040333-Comparing-Midjourney-Plans. Checked on 15 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

