ShortStack
Head-to-head

Alight Motion vs CapCut: which app for TikTok edits?

At a glance

CapCut is a free all-round video editor with templates, and Pro is $19.99/month or $179.99/year. Alight Motion is a motion graphics app for iPhone, iPad and Android. Its site says it is "Free to Try" but does not list prices. Most beginners should start with CapCut. Pick Alight Motion if you want to build animated edits with layers and keyframes.

Quick verdict

  • Choose CapCut for fast TikToks, auto captions and trend templates.
  • Choose Alight Motion for motion graphics, vector shapes and layered animated edits on your phone.

Side-by-side comparison

DetailCapCutAlight Motion
Free planYes, $0 with basic editing tools and free templates"Free to Try" per its site. Free version limits not stated on alightmotion.com (checked 16 Oct 2026)
Paid planPro: $19.99/month, or $179.99/yearNot stated on alightmotion.com (checked 16 Oct 2026)
Where it runsDesktop, mobile and webiPhone, iPad and Android
StrengthTemplates tuned to TikTok trends, AI toolsMultiple layers of graphics, video and audio, vector shapes, freehand drawing

What you pay

CapCut is $0 to start. Alight Motion's own site does not show its prices. Check the price in your app store before you subscribe.

Which one for a Shorts creator?

  • Talking videos, captions, quick cuts: CapCut.
  • Anime edits, logo animations, motion text: Alight Motion.
  • Both: many creators animate in Alight Motion and finish in CapCut.

Common questions

Does Alight Motion have a free plan?

Yes. Alight Motion pricing: Freemium. Prices change, so check the official site.

Does CapCut have a free plan?

Yes. CapCut pricing: Free; Pro $19.99/mo or $179.99/yr. Prices change, so check the official site.

Which is better, Alight Motion or CapCut?

Pick CapCut for fast TikToks, auto captions and trend templates. Pick Alight Motion for motion graphics, vector shapes and layered animated edits on your phone.

Related: CapCut alternatives, phone video editing apps, best Reels editing apps, free editing apps for TikTok.

Sources: capcut.com/pricing, alightmotion.com/. Checked on 15 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.