- Free plan
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Captions vs CapCut: which app is better for talking videos?
At a glance
- Free planlimited feature set, no generative AI
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
CapCut is a full free editor with templates and effects. Captions is built for talking-head videos: auto captions, chat-based edits and batch clips. CapCut's free plan does far more. Captions' Max plan is $24.99/month on iOS.
Quick verdict
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | CapCut | Captions |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: core editing and free templates | Yes: basic tools, 1 caption template |
| Entry paid plan | Pro: $19.99/month or $179.99/year, 1,200 AI credits | Max: $24.99/month (iOS), 500 credits |
| Upper plan | Ultra: $79/month | Frontier: $69.99/month (iOS), 1,400 credits |
| Export | 1080p (ShortStack data) | Not on Captions' pricing page (Oct 2026) |
| Credit rollover | Purchased credits top up | Up to 3x monthly allowance |
| Best for | Trend edits on a $0 budget | Talking-head edits |
For TikTok, Shorts and Reels
If your Shorts are you talking to camera, Captions saves time. If they are cuts, transitions and music, CapCut is the better tool, and free. Many creators record and caption in Captions, then finish in CapCut.
How to choose
- Budget $0: CapCut.
- Talking-head content daily: Captions Max.
- Want both: caption in Captions, edit in CapCut.
Questions people search
Is Captions better than CapCut?
For talking-head videos, it saves time. For general edits, CapCut does more for free.
How much does the Captions app cost?
Max is $24.99 a month on iOS. Frontier is $69.99.
How much does CapCut Pro cost?
$19.99 a month or $179.99 a year.
Related: Captions vs VEED, Submagic vs Captions, CapCut alternatives.
Sources: capcut.com/pricing, captions.ai/pricing. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

