Free mobile and desktop editor from ByteDance with templates, auto captions and AI clipping.
CapCut vs InShot (2026): which phone editor should you use?
Beginner-friendly mobile editor for trimming, music, speed and vertical formatting.
Pick CapCut if you want trend templates, auto captions and AI tools across phone, desktop and web. Pick InShot if you want a simple phone editor and would rather pay once ($49.99 lifetime) than subscribe.
Quick verdict
- Pick CapCut if you edit TikToks from templates, want to move between phone and laptop, and can live within the free tier.
- Pick InShot if you make quick edits on one phone, want 4K 60fps export, and prefer a one-time Pro purchase.
Side-by-side facts
| CapCut | InShot | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free; Pro $19.99/mo; Ultra $79/mo; Teams $12.49/seat (reference prices, vary by region) | Free; Pro $4.99/mo, $19.99/yr or $49.99 lifetime; $3.99 ad removal (US App Store) |
| Free plan | Yes: basic editing tools and free templates | Yes, with ads and in-app purchases |
| Watermark on free | CapCut says it usually comes from the default ending clip or template elements, which you can delete | InShot's terms list logo removal as a paid subscription feature |
| Max export | Not stated on pricing page | App Store says it saves in 4K 60fps (free vs Pro split not stated) |
| AI credits | Pro: 1,200 a month; Ultra: 8,645 | Not stated |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Windows and Mac desktop, web | iPhone, iPad, Android, Apple-silicon Macs |
Where CapCut wins
CapCut is the bigger tool. The free tier covers core editing on mobile, desktop and web, and its template library follows TikTok trends. Pro at $19.99/mo adds 1,200 AI credits a month, all premium templates and 1 TB of cloud storage. The catch is that prices on the pricing page are reference prices: the final price, taxes and offers appear after you sign in.
On watermarks, CapCut's help center says the logo usually comes from the default ending clip or a template element. Delete the ending clip and check every track before exporting.
Where InShot wins
InShot is cheaper and simpler. Pro costs $4.99/mo, $19.99/yr or $49.99 once on the US App Store. If you just trim, add music and text, and export vertical clips, it does the job without a monthly bill. Its terms of use say paid users get logo and ad removal, so budget for Pro if a clean export matters. It has no web or Windows version.
Worked cost example: one year
- InShot Pro yearly: $19.99. Lifetime: $49.99 once.
- CapCut Pro monthly: $19.99 × 12 = $239.88 at the reference price, before regional or annual discounts.
InShot's lifetime licence costs less than three months of CapCut Pro. CapCut only pays off if you use its AI credits and premium templates every week.
Final verdict: pick by situation
- You follow TikTok trends: CapCut. Its templates are built around them.
- You want to pay once and be done: InShot Pro lifetime at $49.99.
- You edit on a Windows PC: CapCut. InShot lists no Windows app.
- You need AI features: CapCut Pro, with 1,200 AI credits a month.
- You just trim, add music and post: InShot. It is lighter and cheaper.
InShot's prices above are US App Store prices and vary by country. For Instagram-first creators, also see CapCut vs Edits, or browse InShot alternatives.
Questions
Is CapCut better than InShot?
For templates, captions and AI features, yes. For a cheap, simple phone editor with a lifetime option, InShot is better value.
Does InShot have a watermark?
InShot's terms of use list "InShot logo and ads removal" as a paid subscription feature, so expect the logo on free exports.
How much is InShot Pro?
On the US App Store: $4.99 a month, $19.99 a year, or $49.99 lifetime.
Does CapCut add a watermark?
CapCut says it usually comes from the default ending clip or template elements, which you can remove before export.
Which works on PC?
CapCut has Windows and Mac desktop apps and a web editor. InShot runs on Apple-silicon Macs but has no Windows app.
Sources: capcut.com/pricing, CapCut help: watermark, InShot on the App Store, InShot terms of use, inshot.com. Checked on 13 October 2026. Based on published plans, not a hands-on test.