- Free plan
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
Splice vs CapCut: which phone editor is better for short videos?
At a glance
- Free option listed
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
CapCut is free and does more: templates, captions, AI tools, plus desktop and web apps. Splice is a mobile editor from Bending Spoons that relies on paid subscriptions, with App Store purchases listed at $9.99, including a weekly plan with a free trial. For most short-form creators on a budget, CapCut is the better start.
Quick verdict
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | CapCut | Splice |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes | Free to download. Main features sit behind a subscription |
| Paid plan | Pro $19.99/month or $179.99/year | App Store purchases from $9.99, including a weekly plan with a free trial (US) |
| Platforms | Desktop, mobile and web | iPhone and iPad (App Store listing) |
| Watermark | Not on CapCut's pricing page (Oct 2026) | Not listed on the App Store page (Oct 2026) |
| Features | Templates, auto captions, AI credits | Trimming, speed, music, export to TikTok and Instagram |
| Best for | Free, trend-led editing | Simple mobile edits |
For Shorts, TikTok and Reels creators
Both export vertical video. CapCut adds TikTok-style templates and auto captions, which save time on daily posts. Splice is a clean timeline editor, but the App Store listing shows only paid options, so you pay sooner.
How to choose
- Start with CapCut Free and see if it covers your edits.
- Try Splice only through its free trial, and cancel if you do not need it.
- Compare weekly vs yearly cost before you subscribe to Splice.
Common questions
Is Splice free?
Splice is free to download, but its App Store listing shows paid subscriptions from $9.99, with a free trial on the weekly plan.
Is CapCut better than Splice?
For most short-form creators, yes: it is free and has more templates and AI tools.
Who makes Splice?
Bending Spoons, per the App Store seller listing and the Splice website.
Related: CapCut vs InShot, CapCut alternatives, phone video editing apps.
Sources: capcut.com/pricing, spliceapp.com, apps.apple.com/us/app/splice-video-editor-maker/id409838725. Splice prices are App Store US in-app purchases; the store does not say what each $9.99 item covers. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

