- Free plan720p, watermarked
- Watermark on free exports
- Commercial use allowed
BIGVU vs Captions: which app for talking-head Shorts?
At a glance
- Free planlimited feature set, no generative AI
- Watermark not statedThe provider does not say
BIGVU covers the full path: teleprompter, AI scripts, captions and posting. It is free at 720p with a watermark; Starter is $12/month with unlimited captions. Captions focuses on editing what you filmed: 100+ caption styles, chat-based AI edits and batch clips on Max at $24.99/month (iOS price). If you struggle to talk to camera, BIGVU. If you want the best-looking captions and AI edits, Captions.
Quick verdict
Side-by-side comparison
| Detail | BIGVU | Captions |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Script, prompt, record, caption, post | AI editing and captions |
| Free plan | Yes: 720p, watermark, 500 AI credits, 9 min per video | Yes: basic tools, 1 caption template, no AI credits |
| Entry paid plan | Starter: $12/mo or $149/yr | Max: $24.99/mo (iOS) |
| Next plan | AI Pro: $19/mo or $229/yr | Frontier: $69.99/mo, 1,400 credits |
| Teleprompter | All plans | Not listed on the pricing page |
| Caption styles | Unlimited captions on Starter | 100+ templates on Max |
| Watermark | Free: yes. Paid: no | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Best for | Reading scripts on camera | Polished caption-heavy edits |
For Shorts, TikTok and Reels
Talking-head Shorts need two things: a smooth delivery and readable captions. BIGVU solves the first with its prompter, and Starter adds captions for $12. Captions solves the second with 100+ animated styles and can cut clips from long videos in batches. Captions' prices are iOS only.
How to choose
- Forget your lines? BIGVU.
- Want trend caption styles? Captions Max.
- On a budget? BIGVU Starter is half the price of Captions Max.
- Test both free tiers with the same 30-second clip.
Common questions
Does BIGVU add captions?
Yes. Starter includes unlimited captions.
Does Captions have a teleprompter?
Not listed on its pricing page.
Is Captions free?
Yes, with basic tools and 1 caption template. AI credits need Max.
Related: Captions vs VEED, teleprompter tools.
Sources: bigvu.tv/pricing, captions.ai/pricing. Checked on 16 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.

