ShortStack
Head-to-head

Steve AI vs Pictory: which text-to-video tool should you use?

At a glance

Pictory turns scripts, articles and long videos into stock-footage videos with AI voices. Starter is $25/month billed yearly or $29 monthly, with 200 video minutes and no watermark. Steve AI leans on animation and avatars. Its pricing page lists paid plans only, from Starter at $19/month billed yearly ($29 monthly) with 1080p up to 2K on Pro. New accounts got 500 free credits in our test.

Quick verdict

  • Choose Pictory for clear pricing, 1080p and stock-footage explainers.
  • Choose Steve.ai if you want animated characters and AI-generated stories.
  • Steve AI's pricing page shows paid plans only. Confirm the plan at checkout.

Side-by-side comparison

DetailPictorySteve.ai
Free option14-day free trial, 15 minFree account: 500 starting credits, 480p with a watermark (not on the pricing page)
Entry planStarter: $25/mo yearly, $29 monthlyStarter: $19/mo yearly ($228/yr), $29 monthly
Next planProfessional: $35/mo yearly, $59 monthlyPro: $39/mo yearly, $59 monthly, 2K
Minutes or downloads200 video min/mo on Starter100 min of AI video/mo on Starter, unlimited exports
Export1080p on all plansStarter 1080p, Pro 2K, Enterprise 4K
WatermarkStarter: no watermarkPaid plans: no Steve AI watermark
Commercial useNot stated on the pricing pageDepends on plan; Enterprise has reselling rights
Best forBlog and podcast repurposingAnimated explainers

For Shorts, TikTok and Reels

Both resize to vertical. Pictory Starter includes 60 minutes a month of ElevenLabs voices, enough for about 60 one-minute Shorts. Steve AI Starter includes 100 minutes of AI video a month with unlimited exports, so daily Shorts fit if each video stays short.

How to choose

  1. Posting daily? Pictory Starter.
  2. Want animation? Try Steve AI with the starting credits on a new account.
  3. On Steve AI, check the monthly video minutes before paying.
  4. Use Pictory's 14-day trial with a real script.

Common questions

Is Steve AI free?

Not on the pricing page, which lists paid plans only. In our test a new account got 500 credits, enough for one 480p slideshow with a Steve AI watermark.

Does Pictory have a watermark?

Starter states no watermark. The trial is not stated.

Which is cheaper, Pictory or Steve AI?

Steve AI Starter is $228/year and Pictory Starter is $300/year, both at 1080p.

Related: Pictory alternatives, faceless video tools.

Sources: pictory.ai/pricing, app.steve.ai/pricing, steve.ai/ai-terms. Pictory checked on 16 October 2026; Steve AI checked on 27 October 2026. Based on published plans and terms, not a hands-on test.